Education notebook: National honors for tech students

Students from St. Augustine High School placed eighth in video game design at the Technology Student Association’s national conference in June.

Students from the St. Augustine High School chapter of the Technology Student Association placed eighth at the annual TSA National Conference in June. The team — made up of Logan Conlon, Noah Law, Justin Miller, Edward Gilbert and Ryan Schmidt — competed against the top three competitors from each of 49 participating states in the video game design category.


The students placed second at the state level in March. It is the third year the TSA chapter has gone to the nationals and the second time they have competed in video design.

Warren McCrary, a teacher at St. Johns County Aerospace Academy, was the team’s advisor. The group received financial support from Flagler Hospital and the St. Augustine Airport Pilots Association.

Flagler news director joins newspaper board

Brian Thompson, the news and information director for Flagler College, has been named to the board of directors for the National Society of Newspaper Columnists. Thompson has written an award-winning, weekly column for The Record since 1998. He will serve as chair of the national awards contest.

SJR State cadets recognized

St. Johns River State College’s criminal justice academy cadets were recognized during a graduation ceremony. Cadets representing St. Johns, Clay, Putnam, Duval and Flagler counties received their certificates of completion for the Florida Law Enforcement Academy program.

Law enforcement basic recruit graduates from St. Johns County include Dennis Camden, Joseph Capriglione, Brandon Cologne, Jonathan Correa, Donna Culbreth, Johnathan Guinn, Justin Mims, Justin Morrow, Mason Patrou, Dominic Quintieri, Heather Schott, Kurt Sellers and Jacob Sesemann.

The criminal justice certificate program provides job-related training to prepare cadets for entry-level employment in the field.

The program is on the St. Augustine campus.